Wanderlust

Once upon a time, I went on a cross-country road trip, and since then, I haven’t wanted to be back. I feel a certain loneliness, longing, ache for the open road. I miss the cramped car, my music all day every day, and the time zones. I miss the feeling of freedom in the mountains, the awe and beauty of the sea. Anticipation built as I crossed a bridge. Fear mounted when I saw the vastness of the sky. 

And here I am today, dreaming for a ticket to San Francisco to meet new people at a sci-fi/fantasy conference. I want to backpack across Europe and stay in hostels with people I’ve just barely met. I want to sail across the Pacific with nothing between me and God but the clouds. I want to fly, I want to live, I want to travel. I want to be free.

Image

About abutcherwriter

I'm just a writer musing about life, love, and the agonies and magic of both.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

